What inspired me to write this book?

Remembering my childhood and reflecting on how I was disciplined is my great inspiration in writing Naughty Little Boy. Children nowadays have no boundaries and basically do whatever they want. I see this everyday as an elementary school teacherย in school, supermarkets, and random places.

If I broke a rule, then I had to deal with the consequences. Then when I became a teenager, my parents became stricter. I had more restrictions. I had an early curfew, more chores, and less freedom than most of my friends and peers.

It wasn’t until I was out of high school for a few years and started to look around at all those people whose freedom I had so envied, and found out that many of them were still living at home, with minimum wage or no jobs at all, they hadn’t gone to college, and several of them had been to jail or prison, that I began to appreciate that my parents werenโ€™t over-doing it, they were looking out for me. They loved me enough to want me to succeed.

Now that I have my own children, it certainly sealed that theory and made it a fact.

2 responses »

  1. Karate says:

    Well to me Martial Arts means respect and discipline.
    I have trained in different Martial arts now for well above 15 years.
    I have seen tons of people come and go but one more thing that I have
    noticed is clearly the respect and discipline that has changed those peoples perception of life.

    Young kids that have started that have been
    on the wrong side of the tracks, always in trouble
    and no idea how to respect other kids. Place them in a controlled environment with discipline and fighting and they soon start to understand.

    Martial arts is one way for teens and adults to get rid of their aggression without hurting or bullying
    anyone.

    • Thank you for your insight and awesome comments! I believe in Martial Arts and I love it! I do self defense, Tai Chi, and Qigong. I also have a club to help young kids with anger, anxiety, and stress, and I teach them Tai Chi and Qigong to help them. As a first Grade teacher, I also recommend Martial Arts to parents for the same reasons you stated in you stated in your valuable comment. Thank you so much…..I truly agree with you! Namaste ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

